Artsy cat says

Standard

Moose was down supervising in the studio yesterday and he said that it’s never too early for Halloween. I got a pile of new stencils from the Crafters Workshop and there’s a ‘cubist’ one that made me think of Klimt, which made me think of one of the many skeleton/Death stamps I have (hey, it ain’t all pink flowers here), this one from Nonsequitur. I was thinking of doing something dimensional with the stencil, like molding paste, then I suddenly remembered that I have some Distress crackle paint, which would be perfect if it worked. My new motto is “If you’re going to screw up, do it at full speed.” (Daryl “Moose” Johnston) Honestly, I thought there was a good chance of it working as long as the crackle paint wasn’t too hard to control.

20120829-205053.jpg

So here’s the result of the first experiment. Should have done the transfer before the sprays, since I used Dylusions, which react with water–and gel medium–but this is pretty much the look I was after. I’m working on a small canvas where I’ve used the stamp at actual size.

20120829-210006.jpg

3 responses »

  1. VERY powerful! and i love your kitty. the black is gorgeous against the other colors. brave and bold…i love that! i also love that i jumped here from julie’s site…she’s the best to do this post for us to see what other’s do and gain inspiration. thank you for yours!!! smiles and joy. samara

Leave a Reply

