Back from ‘Up North’

Standard

I’m back from two weeks in Minnesota and Iowa. Almost every summer when I was a kid, we would go ‘Up North’ from our farm in Iowa to a lake in Minnesota (or Canada) for a week of fishing and fun with my mom’s sister’s family and sometimes our grandparents and other family. We looked forward to it all year long. I haven’t been back for a fishing trip for several years, so it was great to get to spend 10 days on Wasson Lake, throwing bait around, eating and laughing. I took a Moleskine watercolor book that I had done some backgrounds in before I left. I usually don’t do much artwork on vacation. I have great intentions for making art that rarely materialize. This year was no exception. I seemed to slide almost immediately into a state of ennui brought on by oxygen-saturated September breezes and no vacation for four years.
I did manage to cut out a picture of some Northern pikes from the Minnesota fishing guide and do a little doodling on one spread. I took a lot of pictures, though, and amassed a large collection of STASH tea bag envelopes for future pages. I especially like this background. I sprayed Dylusions dyes over wet pages and the pooled dyes give the impression of the map of a coastline. Did a little gesso stenciling, too.

20120922-192428.jpg

20120922-192502.jpg

2 responses »

  1. I love these pages. Those fish are fantastic! Love how your family called it going “Up North.” When I was growing up, my parents referred to our lake cottage as going “Upstate.” I always referred to it that way as well, until I dated a guy who had a summer house that was truly Upstate New York — a 5 hour drive compared to our 1 hour drive to our cottage. I never considered that New York State went past Westchester county! Found you through Balzer Designs and I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

