Background noise

Standard

Gelli plate monoprinting has been all over the web lately. I don’t have one (yet) but I still have some gelatin so I mixed up a batch Friday night and spent much of the last two days making prints. I even used some of the prints I made last time as backgrounds. This journal spread has one of them on the right, with a silhouette a la Dina Wakely. It got a bit overwhelmed as I collaged the rest of the spread–being distracted by football–which led to the caption.
I now have a ton of mostly finished collages and backgrounds and as a bonus, I got some cool painted embellishments from the masks I used to make the prints. My gelatin ‘plate’ started to crack or I’d probably still be at it. I learn a lot every time I do this and it’s hard to mess up. You need a lot of drying space and that’s about the only ‘down side’. I suspect there’s a Gelli Plate in my future. 😉

20121118-161142.jpg

20121118-161155.jpg

20121118-162414.jpg

Leave a Reply

