Heart days

Standard

Got Dina Wakley’s new book, Art Journal Freedom, last week and I think it’s the best art book buy I’ve ever made. It’s kind of funny because when it became available for preorder on Amazon I ordered it because I like her style; I didn’t realize it was based on lessons in composition (I know, read the subtitle!) and color. I think I do okay with color (orange obsession aside) but I need help with composition; too much left-brain influence. I like Dina’s writing style, too. It’s intelligent, engaging, and encouraging, a combination that seems hard to achieve.
I started a journal page based on the second chapter (the first chapter is a materials list, good stuff for beginners), then discovered my lovely squares are too big for the page. Oops, oh well, as Dina says! I used scraps to make rectangles (so my page has asymmetrical symmetry) and I started a canvas to use with the squares.
Here’s the journal page. More photos of the rest on the DRCH Studio Facebook page

20130217-105848.jpg

One response »

Leave a Reply

