Lesson 2-Text and image

Standard

Okay, Lesson 2 at last. My Golden gel and matte mediums always seem too dry and stiff for image transfer so I tried using Utrecht matte medium and I like it better; the transfers are a bit thinner and stretchier than with Golden but they're smoother and less likely to crack.

Here's my first piece. This is an image from a Dover royalty-free CD. I call her 'The Frenchwoman' because she reminds me of a figure from a Seurat painting, so I went with an impressionist feel. The background text is all in French. I found the headline on the right in a Montreal newspaper; it translates as “How does one manage artists?”, which gave me a chuckle.

The one below is me at about 3 or 4. All the background text is from a 1968 Jack and Jill magazine–but don't let me date myself…I was trying to go with a kind of childlike painting technique. Not sure I like it but the colors are good.

 

Leave a Reply

