Spring is here

Standard

It seemed like it would never make it, but ready or not, spring has appeared. I know, by Memorial Day, most people are looking at summer, but this is the Northeast, and other than a couple of weird hot days, winter hung around forever. My yard is it's own ecosystem, too, and it seems as if it's the last place In the county for the snow to melt. We've had a patch of wet weather, so I've spent much of the weekend planting, weeding, and mulching like a fiend as if I can cram the entire season into a weekend. The daffodils are just starting to fade, the lilacs are blooming, and the hummingbirds are dogfighting all around the porch where I'm sitting.the studio is usually quiet this time of year while I'm outside, but I've done a few small watercolor pieces while watching the Giro d'Italia and waiting for the rain to stop.

The pictured piece started as a pencil doodle. I added watercolor crayon with a waterbrush, then I used colored pencils and graphite pencils to add highlights and shading. I realized that if I rotated it, I could add a quote quite easily. Brilliant! 🙂 I penciled in the quote, then wrote over with a gel pen. Easy, fun. I'm thinking I may put the watercolor pieces together in an art journal, but not unless it starts raining again!

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

